Instruction Permit Requirements

To obtain a provisional instruction permit you must be at least 15 1/2 but under 18 years of age.  You must:


  • Fill out the DMV application form (DL44).
  • Obtain your parents' or guardians' signatures on the application form.
  • Present an acceptable birth date/legal present document.  Refer to the California Driver Handbook for additional information.
  • Provide your social security number.
  • Pay the required application fee.
  • Pass an eye exam.
  • Have your picture taken.
  • Give a thumb print.
  • Pass a law test.        


If you incorrectly answer nine or more questions (46 total questions) on the law test, you must wait one week before taking it again.


Hold your permit for a minimum of 6 months before you apply for a license.
If you are between 15 1/2 and 17 1/2 you must also provide proof that you:
Completed driver education.  We give you a form (DL400c) to show proof of completion. If you are at least 17 1/2, you may obtain a permit without driver education or driver training.  However to get a license, you must bring proof that you have completed driver education and driver training or wait until you are 18 years old.

If you want a permit to drive a mopeds or motorcycles, you must be at least 15 1/2 and bring proof that you have completed driver education and driver training.

NOTE:  The provisional instruction permit is not valid until you start your behind-the-wheel driver training with an instructor or reach age 17 1/2.


​ $29.95



Welcome to Surf's Up Driving Schools Online Driver Education, the alternative to Classroom Driver Education Instruction.  

We hope you will enjoy the convenience of our internet based Driver Education Program, where you can accomplish Driver Education any place you have access to the internet. Where you can work at your own pace and around your schedule.



​Our online course meets all the requirements set forth by the California Department of Motor Vehicles. Upon the satisfactory completion of our course, students will receive a certificate of completion of Driver Education (DL400c Form). The average time to complete this course is 25.5 hours, as mandated by the DMV.  Please call Rob Jones at (805) 434-1444 with any question. 

​ $29.95

​ $29.95

Online Driver Education $29.95
Receive a $5.00 discount when you take our behind-the-wheel Driver Training.
Your cost is only $24.95 after discount.

​ $29.95

​ $29.95

​ $29.95

Receive $5.00 off Behind-the-Wheel Driver Training, when you take our online Driver Education Course at only $29.95.

Stay with us for your Driver Training and we will give you $5.00 off your last lesson of Behind-the-Wheel- Driver-Training

Catch a wave, We are half the cost of most schools!

Don't get closed out, our price has no course time limits, no certificate fee, no postage and handling .  Yep only $29.95 

​ $29.95

Driver Education

Not All Online Courses Are Created With The Student In Mind.

 There Are No Short Cuts, As Some Online Courses Will Have You Believe

Online Driver Education $29.95
Receive a $5.00 discount when you take our behind-the-wheel Driver Training.
Your cost is only $24.95  

Copyright, All Rights Reserved 
Surf's Up Driving & Traffic School 2017
A State of California Licensed Driving School DS4449
Licensed - Bonded - Insured